Tabley House was built by the architect John Carr of York for Sir Peter Byrne Leicester in 1767. The Leicesters lived at Tabley from the 14th Century, first in the Old Hall on a moated island. and later in the fine house as it stands today.
St Peter’s Chapel, originally built on the island in 1678, was moved in 1927 and re-erected on its present site which is adjacent to the house. The Chapel and the ante-chapel, which now operates as a Tea Room during the open season, have impressive stained glass, (one window designed by Burne Jones) and a grand fireplace originally installed in the Old Hall in 1619.
The Collection is housed in the principal state rooms of the fine, grade 1 Palladian mansion. It contains some of the finest British paintings of the 18th and 19th Century. Paintings by Turner, Lawrence and others, seen in the rooms for which they were painted for.
Also included in the Collection is some fine furniture from cabinet makers Chippendale and Gillow. You will also find some fascinating family history of the Leicesters.